
Laws and resources for 
keeping animals and people 

safe in Maricopa County

DOG OWNERSHIP
A license, leash and vaccinations will help keep your dog – 
and your community – safe.

VACCINATIONS  
& LICENSES

In Maricopa County, all dogs 
older than three months are 
required to have a current 
vaccination for rabies and 
a license.  Vaccinations can 
be administered by your 
veterinarian or at an Animal 
Care Center operated by 
Maricopa County Animal 
Care and Control.  Licenses 
must be worn on a dog collar 
and may be obtained online 
or by mail from MCACC. 
Visit pets.maricopa.gov or call 

602-506-PETS (7387) for more information.

LEASH LAW
You are not permitted to allow your dog to run freely 
outside your property at any time unless he or she is in 
a designated off-leash area in a dog park.  The leash law 
is designed to protect your dog from running away or 
getting hit by a car.

LOSE A PET?
If  you lose your pet, check the Animal Care Centers 
operated by Maricopa County Animal Care and Control  
602-506-PETS (7387):

2500 South 27th Avenue 
Phoenix, AZ 85009

2630 West 8th Street 
Mesa, AZ 85201

You can also find online resources for finding a lost pet at:

NoLostPetsMaricopa.org 
azhumane.org (Arizona Humane Society) 
PetHarbor.com 
PetFinder.com 
Facebook.com/LostDogsArizona 
The “Lost & Found” section on craigslist

FIND A PET?
You can attempt to reunite a lost dog or cat with its owner by 
using one of  the online resources listed above or by taking 
the animal to a Maricopa County Animal Care and Control 
Center.  If  no one claims a dog or cat within 72 hours of  
being taken to the Center (or 120 hours for animals with a 
license), although it is not guaranteed, you may be able to 
adopt the animal.  By law, anyone who cares for a dog or cat 
for six consecutive days becomes the legal owner.

WILD ANIMALS
Wild animals, including bats, foxes, coyotes, raccoons, skunks, 
squirrels, chipmunks and wildcats can be surrendered to the 
Arizona Game & Fish Department at:

Main Office 
5000 West Carefree Highway 
Phoenix, AZ 85086

Region VI 
7200 East University Drive 
Mesa, AZ 85207

ANIMAL BITES
If  your pet bites someone, or if  you are bitten, 
you must report the incident to Maricopa 
County Animal Care and Control at (602) 
506-7387.  Most domestic animals (dogs, cats, 
ferrets) will be quarantined in an approved 
facility or the owner’s home.  Animal owners 
may be legally responsible for any related 
expenses. For more information and resources, visit 

SafeAnimalsAZ.org

Maricopa County 
Attorney’s Office

Protecting 
Animals



ANIMAL CRUELTY
Under Arizona law (A.R.S § 13-2910), cruelty to animals 
can take many forms, from neglecting or abandoning an 
animal, to inflicting physical injury or failing to provide 
medical attention.  These types of  offenses are felony crimes 
punishable by up to two years in prison.  The statute defines 
an “animal” as a mammal, bird, reptile or amphibian.  There 
are also special provisions against harming or injuring 
animals that are specially trained to assist someone with 
daily living needs or provide service to law enforcement 
agencies.

SIGNS OF ANIMAL CRUELTY
•	 Sores, cuts, bruises or bleeding
•	 Patches of  missing fur
•	 Thin, emaciated body
•	 Limping or inability to walk
•	 An owner beating or threatening an animal
•	 Animals left in parked cars during hot weather
•	 Animals repeatedly left outside without food, water or 

shelter from extreme weather 

ANIMAL FIGHTING
Owning, training or causing an animal to fight another 
animal is a crime except if  it falls within specific exemptions 
for lawful pursuits such as hunting, ranching or security 
services.  It is also illegal to be present at a cockfight, 
dogfight or other exhibitions of  animal fighting.

INHUMANE TREATMENT OF 
FARM ANIMALS

In 2006, Arizona voters approved a ballot measure that 
prohibits the confinement of  pigs and calves on farms in 
a manner that prevents them from lying down or turning 
around freely.

HOARDING
Animal hoarding, or keeping an excessive number of  dogs 
or cats in a home or in cramped, unsanitary conditions, 
may be punishable under animal cruelty laws and should 
be reported to law enforcement.

REPORT ANIMAL CRUELTY
If  you see signs of  animal cruelty, report it immediately 
by calling your local police agency.  For Phoenix and 
Scottsdale, you can also contact the Arizona Humane 
Society from 8am to 6pm at 602-997-7585 Ext. 2073

If  you have information on an unsolved animal 
cruelty case, you can report it anonymously by calling  
Silent Witness at 480-WITNESS (948-6377).

Avondale 623.333.7012
Buckeye 623.349.6400
Chandler 480.782.4130
Fountain Hills 602.252.7840
Gilbert 480.503.6500 

email police@ci.gilbert.az.us
Goodyear 623.932.1220
Glendale 623.930.3000
Mesa 480.644.2211
Paradise Valley 480.948.7410
Peoria 623.773.8311
Phoenix 602.262.6151
Queen Creek 602.876.1681
Scottsdale 480.312.5000
Sun City 602.256.1011
Surprise 623.222.4000
Tempe 480.966.6211

Dear fellow citizen,

Animals are special members of  our community.  They are 
part of  the wonder and beauty of  our natural environment.  
They also provide joy and comfort to our families. In 
short, animals give us the chance to practice the care and 
compassion we are called to share with one another as fellow 
human beings.

That’s why Arizona law provides important protections for 
animals, whether living in the wild or as domestic pets in 
your home.  As Maricopa County Attorney, I’m committed 
to upholding these laws and prosecuting those who harm or 
abuse animals in our community.

This brochure contains important information about our 
animal protection laws and helpful resources available for 
animal owners.  It also contains instructions on how to 
report animal cruelty and what to do if  you encounter an 
animal in need of  help or a home.

We can only call ourselves a civilized society to the extent 
we care and protect those who are the most innocent and 
vulnerable – and that includes the animals that live among 
us.  Please join me in committing to make Maricopa County 
an animal-friendly place to live.

Sincerely,

Bill Montgomery
Bill Montgomery
Maricopa County Attorney


